• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Komusa PC4000/4200 and Abit NF7-S V2.0

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kondlao

Hello all, I'm pretty new at this but I've been reading this forume for a long time now.

I have an Abit NF7-S V2.0 with 1700DLT3C JIUHB 0319. I am currently using Samsung PC2100 (2x256) and is running at 2.2Ghz.
My timming on the ram is 2.5, 2, 2, 5. My multi is 12.0@183Mhz.
Would I benifit if I upgrade my ram to PC4000 or PC4200 (Kumusa Hyperam). I have burn-in with @home and prime95 for 24hr each and both are solid. Current settings are: cpu = 1.6v, RAM at 2.8v.

My questions are.
1. Can I use these type of ram with my NF7-S
2. If so how much performance can I gain
3. Go with OZC or Corsair PC2700 / PC3200
4. Just be happy with what I got!!

Thanks in advance.:cool:

Yes you could use that type of RAM no problem but you will never use it to its full potential. Actually since it is an AMD setup you would take a performance hit because the timings are so lose on RAM these days. The timings of that Samsung while amazing for the ram are almost perfect for for your AMD. The only type of RAM that would really benefit you imo is some BH-5 since it will keep tight timings at high fsb speeds. I'd look for some of that or just keep what you have.

The ADATA PC4200 sticks are meant for people with FSB's in excess of 266mhz... I think I can count on ONE hand the total number of non-64bit AMD's with FSB's higher than 250 -- and I think they're all using the latest DFI board.

If you were using the A64 and overclocking the HT bus to 300mhz, then this is the ram you want to use :p

What if I upgrade to AMD 3000/3200+ with a 400 FSB.
I use my pc for a lot of video rendering and some game. I would like to have my video render faster then it is now.