• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

k6 233mhz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
asmodeansedai said:
how do you over clock a k6 233, and how far should i be able to get it up with out friing it

Get some liquid nitrogen, and take it to 1GHZ. You should be ok, just dont stop the flow of nitrogen (the chip will expand so much that it shatters)

Whats your whole set-up that might help people out , so they have a idea of what you got to work with.

i think you might be able to hit maybe 400Mhz to 500Mhz , dont hold me on them. just a geuss

um.. im kinda new to over clocking, but by setup what do you meen, I probly should know this but.... zzzzz....zzzz....zZZz..

that board would be socket 7...most of those boards only had multipliers up to just enough to support an 233mhz pentium mmx (top of the line back then and highest pentium ever made for the socket 7 platform) U r probably looking at fsb overclocking, probably 75 or 83 mhz fsb. Right now you are probably at 3.5x66mhz fsb = 233mhz. Ur options will probably be 3.5x75 = 262.5mhz or 3.5x83 = 290.5mhz. Also there is only a slim chance you will have overclocking options in the bios. There will be jumpers on the mobo, but you will need the manual to see what they do. Give me some specifics and i might be able to help u a bit. (I have a similar system - p166 @ 208 so i have a bit of experience with the old socket 7 boards) ;) Happy Overclocking :)

I have a soyo board with fsb up to 124Mhz and multiplier up to 5.5. Back then I don't think any bioses could change overclocking settings. It was all done by switches or jumpers on the motherboards.

its pc100 pny ram
ALI, im not sure but thats the name i see most on the mobo
and as for the cooling... um im working onit