• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

memtest86 errors, help a newb?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Fugue

Registered
Hello,

This is my first time posting. So go easy on me. :)

First, Here are my specifics:

Board: Abit IC7
Processor: Intel 2.4b
Ram: Single 512mb stick of Kingston PC3500
DRAM ratio: 4:5
fsb: 156
AGP Ratio: Fixed
vcore: 1.60v
vdimm: 2.8v
timings: 2-7-7-3

I'm using Memtest86 3.1a. At 156 fsb I get no errors. But if I bump the fsb to 157 I get a bunch of them. I looked at the memory sticky and some other posts and tried different timings from the stock 2-7-7-3... but I didn't have any success. Sorry for the newbie question but, what can I do to get pas this wall?

Thanks so much!

Fugue

It seems like you have a bad stick of RAM. Call Kingston and talk to their techsupport, worst that could happen is you RMA fora new stick of RAM. Your stick should run 200 FSB minimum.Just my $0.02

Thanks for replying so fast Tatuya!

I was worried about that... so I changed my DRAM ratio to 1:1 and I still got errors even with the memory running at 156mHz!

Do you know what I can be doing wrong?

Thanks again,

Fugue

Like I said, call Kingston or wait for someone who knows kingston type RAM. I would try going easier on the ram maybe. It seriously is underperforming though so I would have to say that it is defective. Try Kingston Techsupport, they are pretty **** cool.

ADDED: NP about the response time, I hated getting the same problems, thus I am currently RMAing my RAM.

I will try that (I just emailed their support but I'll call them if they aren't helpful). Thank you for the number!

In the meantime, I welcome any users with similar configurations (ic7/kingston pc3500) that have run into similar troubles or haven't had any to post!

Fugue

Ok I think I figured it out...