• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking But Getting Wierd Noises?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MadM0nk3yyy

Registered
First Ill post my system, AMD 3000+ 400fsb Barton, ASUS A7n8x-e Deluxe, Cooled by a TT Volcano 12 with AS5, 512 mb Corsair XMS pc 3200 Ram timings 2-3-3-6. Ram voltage 2.6, ATI 9800 pro w/ vga silencer OC`ed to 420/360, 380 watt ANTEC trupower pw supply.

I am pretty new to overclocking. I kno the basics but not the meat of it. K I have my FSB at 200 which is default for my 3000+ and the multiplier is at 10.5, The Vcore is at 1.696 right now. When I try increasing the FSB to 205 or 210 and start running 3dmark2001 in a loop my comp will crash. So I increased the Ram voltage to 2.7 and now I can run the benchmark without it crashing. Now when Im playing games I will get very staticy sound coming from who knows where playing in my headphones.

Also I noticed some low power levels. My 12v is at 11.968, my 5v is at 4.865, and my 3.3v is at 3.232.
Please help me as I do want to overclock it to its full extent. I thought I should need faster ram, but if you have any suggestions to get this as far as it will go with my current set up please mention it =). I love OC forums.

Patrick

If you get cracks it's your sound card, but
1. It may be the Sound Card drivers
2. It may be the PCI slot where the sound card is placed.
3. It may be the sound card itself.

Try taking the sound card out and using onboard sound and see if the problem goes away. Most nForce2s have quality onboard audio.

Either way try to do exact same things at default speeds to see if the crackling goes away when your system is not overclocked.

This has been reported as one of the side effects of overclocking but many times it's not related to OCing so, test it at default speeds and see.