• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Which is better for dissipating?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
copper

oops, forgot I was in the memory section and not cooling :D. For memory cooling kits, you have to make sure that each memory chip is in contact with the heat spreader. I just have a fan blowing over the ram.

Last edited:
copper is the best heat dissapation meterial, thats why houses are wired with copper :) (im an electrician) hehe
-Andy

Ah, not true. Copper conducts heat better, aluminum dissipates it better (in this case I'm taking better to mean "faster"). It has to do with the specific heat properties of each metal. This is why you see aluminum heatsinks with copper slug cores.

This should be in the cooling section, where lots of people will argue about it. :)

Copper is a good heat conductor but for Memory you don't want it absorbed and held next to the chip you want it to help dissipate the heat. For Memory you want to use Aluminum because it works better than with normal convection.

Ah, not true. Copper conducts heat better, aluminum dissipates it better
If something conducts heat better, it also dissipates it. Correct? I think the 'aluminum dissipates better' is a common misconception. Look at the SLK's - they're the best heatsinks out there, and they're solid copper. The reason heatsinks have copper slugs and aluminum fins is because the copper conducts heat to the aluminum fins better than aluminum, and from there out aluminum is cheaper, ligher, easier to work with, and gets the job done.

johan851 said:

If something conducts heat better, it also dissipates it. Correct?
Nope. Conduction is when heat moves through a material, dissipation (or more correctly, convection) is when heat moves from one material to another (i.e. from a heatsink to air).