• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

how much power needed?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

THE_ODD_ONE

Registered
I am working on my set up and have a 300watt switching ps from my old pc .
I am going to have this ps for (1) 226 watt pelt for the cpu and would like to use (1) 110 watt pelt for the gpu i might be able to get by with a 80 watt for the gpu.

The pelts will be cooled with custom water blocks and a 210gph pump and a heater core from a caprrice ( it fits 2 x 120mm fans).

and will i need to just hook them up to a 12v lead a peace like for the hdd leads.?

as you can tell im new to pelts :)

You need to see how many amps the pelt and the power supply is rated for. Most likely, the pelt is rated at a mich higher Amperage than the power supply, therefore it won't run efficiently on that suppl. I can tell you now a 226 W and a 110 W on one 300 W psu won't run very well at all since it wouldn't supply enough power or amperage.

-Excelsior

there is pretty much no chance at all that you will be able to run a 226w pelt of of that power supply. The plet probably draws about 20 amps of a 12Volt line, and the power supply can probably only supply about 10-12 amps on it's 12Volt line.

You can run the 110 watt pelt of that power supply though.

To run the 226watt pelt you need a dedicated power supply capable of providing about 25 amps at 12Volts. Meanwell makes a really popular one that fits into a 5.5" drive bay, but they are expensive.