• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking 2100xp 333FSB

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

zYclone

Registered
Is the overclock of a 2100xp 333FSB possible? I was reading something that required actual chip modifications. I didnt know if there was a way to flash the bios, or what. I am REALLY new to overclocking and I want to know if MY chip can get overclocked. Im using a A7S333 Asus Motherboard (no raid, stock bios) and 2*512 DDR pc2700 ram sticks, made by sony, nothing special. Temps are nice, 40-45C right now. I dont want to OC much (if possible) cause I dont want my temps over 52, but is there a method to changing the FSB for my processor? Do I have to screw with my jumper cables and put them to user defined?

Lower the multiplier and simply increase the FSB.

You need to have a Thoroghbred, not a Palomino 2100+ to do that.

You also need non retail cooling.

MHz speed = FSB x multiplier

Your PC2700 can go from 166 to low 190s FSB if it's an average PC2700.
But you need to lower the multiplier to do those FSB speeds.

You may need to increase voltage as well.

To be able to tell if your 2100 can do 333, it would be helpful to konw the stepping of the CPU. If you want, take the heatsink off, and look at the CPU. Write down all of the numbers and letters you see. They will either be on the core itself, or on a little black sticker somewhere on the CPU.

c627627 said:
Lower the multiplier and simply increase the FSB.B]

Well the bios seems to be locked and i cant do a user defined on it. Is there any way to unlock that? Or maybe get a new bios that has it where I can do it? ...or do I not make any sense. Heh

In your other thread you said it was an A7V333, here you say A7S333. It's just a different chipset so I don't know if it matters, but which is it?

Processor #1 :(