• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Oc 2000+ Xp

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ziggo0

Hello all,
Im new to overclocking and I want to get to the basics. Right now i have a Amd Athlon 2000+ Palomino LOCKED cpu, an Abit NF7-S v2 motherboard and 1 stick of Kingston DDR-SDRAM - PC 2700 (512megs). I know that i got a great mobo for overclocking n all but i also know my cpu sucks for overclocking. I see people with there cpu at like 2.2 ghz and i cant even hit 1.75ghz. Where would i go about overclocking my cpu? My fsb is at 133 (266ddr) and i cant really go any higher to hit stability, i have NOT increased my voltages yet though. Any suggestions please?

Well back in the days, whe nthe ti 4600 came out and the Pally's best stepping was AGOIA. Me and Mazimum, got 2000mhz on our cpu's. Tho he had the 1600+ i had the 2000+.

Where are u seeing a 2000+ Pally getting 2.2ghz cuss i have never seen that before unless ity using some extreme cooling.

My suggestion would be to INCREASE the voltage. Go to like 1.85v for the cpu and to 2.8 for youre memory. Whats youre cpu temps ?

2000+ Palominos do not overclock that high.
2000+ Thoroughbreds do.
Thoroughbred A maybe 2.0 GHz, Thoroughbred B maybe 2.3 GHz, but not Palomino.

You will probably find even with good air cooling, sufficient power supply and capable RAM you will only get around 1.8GHz on a locked XP2000 Palomino - thats around the norm. Get yourself a TBred or better still mobile Barton to justify the good mobo you have!

c627627 said:
2000+ Palominos do not overclock that high.
2000+ Thoroughbreds do.
Thoroughbred A maybe 2.0 GHz, Thoroughbred B maybe 2.3 GHz, but not Palomino.

Youre wrong, few very few Pally's 1600+ or 2000+ can reach 2ghz, iv done it before.

This was using a Asus a7v333 rev 1.02 board, 1x 256mb pc2700 samsung ti 4600,