• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Come laugh at the noob and help him fix his 2600+

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ripcurl

Registered
Ok first things first, Hi. As you can gather I'm new here and also new to the overclocking business. I've had a search thru the forums and gleaned some know how but I just know that you folks are full of knowledge and won't mind sharing it again even if it has been covered before ( please feel free to direct me to any links that you feel will help if you prefer not to repeat yourselves.)

Now my problem. Bought a 2600+ and an Asus KT400 at the back end of last year and had no problem with the build as my rudimentary knowledge is quite good and I have an old networking degree. Now the bios set the clock speed and multiplyer by default and I have a perfectly happy system running at 1917mhz and that's the problem. I know that the clock speed should be between 2.08ghz and 2.18ghz.
The bios allows lots of settings in auto and manual mode and the stepping is very controllable but I'm a pansy when it comes to messing with it. When I tried on a number of occasions to use the auto settings to up the clock speed to a speed within the cpu's reported clock I have always got a system crash on reboot that is always so severe that it ruins the file structure of XP and nothing short of a clean install will work and then I'm back to 1.917ghz as the only stable setting. Due to this I have been loathe to mess with it.
So, I'm au fait with hardware and have built over 100 systems over the years, OC is where I'm clueless due to a lack of never learning, I'm hoping to change that from today. (The last thing I OC was a PII 400 back in the day when it was THE Ninja PC but I've tried nothing since.)