• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

226 watt pelt with a 500 watt psu

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

magick_man

Forum Magician
i wanna put a pelt on my cpu and cool it with my sp-94/panaflo high
but i was wondering if i could use the psu i have now
the +12v line is rated at 20a
and the 226 watt pelt i found was 20a at 12v
would this be safe to run or should i just settle for like a 156 watt pelt (i think 14a at 12v)

i am still a noob to this pelt stuff

Thnx, ~Magick_Man~

sorry, but you will need a second power supply to run a pelt. The pelt will be drawing 20 amps all on it's own, which would leave nothing for your computer, so it won't work. Even if you tried to just run the pelt of of the power supply it probably wouldn't work very well and might fry the supply. If you need 20 amps you should get a supply that is rated for at least 25 to be safe.

It depends on what cpu you have and it's speed and voltage, but the smaller pelt might not have enough power to cool your cpu. If the processor puts out more heat than the pelt can transfer, things will just get hotter and hotter. This will probably be an even bigger problem with just air cooling on the pelt.

Your best bet is probably to build or buy a supply that can handle the 226W pelt.

I do not know how good this PSU is...but it is supposedly big enough to run a system AND a 226w pelt...

Enermax EG851AX-VH 660w

"This is also one of few supplies on the market with abundant amperage on the 12v rail to power a 226w TEC and your PC, thus eliminating the need for an additional power supply."

I personally like PC Power Cooling PSU's...but even with one of them you would be stressing it with both a pelt and the system...