View Full Version : (edit by SSS, This is a Scam) XP pro for 50.00
shadowdr
06-04-04, 06:07 PM
What do you think? It says it is OEM,si it isn't backup software.I was thinking of getting XP Pro and Adobe 8.Has anyone else used them before?
Edited to remove link.
Looks FISHY to me..I get a ton of emails offering those same prices from who knows where
Posidon42
06-04-04, 06:29 PM
probably comes on a cd with an adhesive applied label :)
This looks to good to be true. :eek:
dicecca112
06-04-04, 06:54 PM
I bought mine for 50 from my college. The computer store guy said something about the school buys license for the computers in bulk, and whatevers left they sell to the students. But only one per student.
Jab-tech
06-04-04, 07:07 PM
Technical Contact:
SoftTrade LTD
Ales Malez (fastflight@outgun.com)
+38067778722
Fax: none
kutuzova av 344-33
kiev, 93400
UA
UA = Ukraine, I would definietly question the validity of the software, and I wouldn't hand over any credit card information either.
Turd Furguson
06-04-04, 07:32 PM
Thx jabtech for some more info.
tom10167
06-04-04, 08:18 PM
If Windows XP was $50 at place X legitamitely, it'd be sold at Newegg for $45. :)
zabomb4163
06-04-04, 08:33 PM
If Windows XP was $50 at place X legitamitely, it'd be sold at Newegg for $45. :)
you can buy a license and certificate of authenticity for 50$ at many stores that are very much legal. true, you can not buy a cd for 50$ but a legal copy of xp can be had for that much. anyone who has built a large number of pc's knows this.
t_biggs
06-04-04, 09:30 PM
Look at the prices of other things. SQL Server and 2003 Enterprise Server to be exact. Along with JabTek's statement.
It would be interesting to get a card with like a $110 limit, and order 2003 Enterprise Server, just to see what you get, if anything.
That stuff is no way legit. I wouldn't buy this stuff as it puts about $40 profit straight into the pocket of mafiosos.
These are people who are actually worse than Microsoft. The Eastern European mob is pretty scary--anybody read about forced child prostitution in the Balkans? It's truly heinous. And it's going on right now as you read this.
Sorry, but I can't give any money to these people and I would strongly advise anyone else to stay away.
Q. What will be reflected on my card statement?
A. The charged payment will be reflected on your card statement in the currency of the country where the bank is geographically located (namely in RUR (Russian rubles). The charged amount may also vary to some extent due to the difference in the currency exchange (approx. +/- $3).
:rolleyes:
Jab-tech
06-04-04, 11:44 PM
I wouldn't be surprised if there was no software at all (not even illegal software). My personal thoughts are this s just a way to get your credit card details and nothing else. Ukraine is amoungst the highest in the world for credit card fraud.
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/4648378/
I say we get a mod to delete this thread before some moron clicks on the link without reading the following posts and orders a disc. Just my thoughts :D.
Ive gone over this before on other forums. JUST SO EVERYONE KNOWS the person behind this website has many of these sites and they all look different, but they all sell the same pirated software for the same prices. IT IS A SCAM. This guy from the Ukraine has been exposed a few times now, sorry I don't have links. But just trust me and dont buy ANYTHING from this site, or any others that look similar.
shadowdr
06-05-04, 05:56 AM
Thanks for the responses.I removed the link.I would hate to promote piracy in any way.Perhaps someday MS and the American oil refineries will sell their products at a reasonable cost to everyone instead of just big businesses.
stereo555
06-05-04, 07:09 PM
Yeh , I get spammed hard from this guy and there are a zillion differant e-mails and buisness that he goes by .
STAY AWAY !!!
overXposure
06-05-04, 08:45 PM
on the student comment ... the software companies offer legal copies of their software to be purchased by students and faculty members at a discount price as long as it is being used for educational purposes ...
during a two year jail term as a computer tech at a local college i would buy a few peices of software a month from the bookstore ... all were clearly marked 'for educational use only' or 'acidemic edition' ...
from some wholesale suppliers you can purchase an OEM cd of a software with no liscenses ... and then purchase the liscense's seperatly ... we did that with office 2000 pro when it first came out ... the oem cd set was real cheap and had an 'install code' instead of the CoA sticker ... but the college had to purchase a liscense for each computer we installed it on .. (500+ computers) ...
a lot of times the sites like that one are selling bootleg copies of that type of software... if they are even selling at all.
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.