• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Prescott With WC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Archer36

Hey all im new to WC'ing but here is my set up: DD Maze4, Hydor L30, BI Pro, and a Rez with 1/2 ID tubing and delta 86.5 CFM. The processor im using is the Prescott 2.8E, Now I just got this CPU on the 15th running stock speeds with the air cooling, and i was getting around 42-45 Idle temps and 54-59 Load temps with stock intel HSF. Now I got my WC set up all leak tested and ready to go and I straped this thing on and im now getting 49-52 Ildle temps and i have not tested load temps yet. I re-seated the Water Block like 10 times now, and removed and re-applied THermal Paste a couple times and got it to drop 2C's but other than that I can not get it to drop. What is everyone else getting stock speeds and running with WC? Thanks You can view my CPUZ info
Here I normally have 512 DDR but a module broke and only have 256 now and that is why i have not been load testing.

-Archer

Last edited:
a couplethings i would say could be: that rad isnt top of the line and you would get much better performance with a HC from a car. Next is do you have your rad shrouded? and if so you get better performance with 2 fans, push/pull. Next is that your water block is a little outdated and you get much better performance with a rbx/WW/tdx/swifty 6000 or 6002. Next is that those cpu's get damn hot. Whats your ambient temp like?if its hot there than your blowing warm air onto the rad. Watercooling also isnt the holy grail of cooling either, its better than air but not a crazy step up. Other than that there is no way that any WC setup should perform less than stock cooling.