• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Why no GPU "block" with all these compressor systems?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

veryhumid

I have no experience with "extreme cooling" but I really admire the setups and retail packages. Is it possible/practical to have a compressor system that cools both cpu and gpu? I'm sure there are temperature considerations, but couldn't they have two "pipes"? Thanks!

Yea, it's very possible. It's called a dual evap system. A few people have them, but they aren't as popular. I'm not sure why.

sandman001 said:
Yea, it's very possible. It's called a dual evap system. A few people have them, but they aren't as popular. I'm not sure why.

$$$ and difficulty.

if you want to do it go ahead, it will keep it nice and cold.

It's really hard to make a system that has to evaporators. You need to control how much fluid goes where, and deal with a lot of tricky tuning problems. It is entirely possable to do it, but it is usually easier to just use a second complete phase change system. The performance would also take a huge hit if you tried to put two evaporators on one standard system. To run 2 evaprorators well, you would need a much bigger compressor and condensor.

Exactly what matttheniceguy said, it can be done, some what more advance, one can drive themselves crazy attempting to tune the metering devices(cap tube) on each of the two evaps. Check out xtremesystems.org forums if your really interested in seeing systems like you mention in real action.

lol, I saw some guy that put 3 in one system! He was cooling the cpu, gpu, and nb. He didn't actually make them though, he just used vapochills.