• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

my temps seem high, should i take out the gpu block?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

netboy

Registered
Hey everyone, ive been running this setup for a few months now, but my temps always seem quite high. at load my temps are about 50C give or take 1C. my setup is 1/2 inch tubing ID all around. DD RBX w/nozzle 5(also tried 4 no noticable differnce), danner mag 3, DD maze 4 gpu, dual 5.25" bay res, chevette HC, 120mm ys-tech fan pulling (biggest one i could find rated at 120+ cfm). ambient temps are approx. 30C. I can accpet 10C over ambient but 50C seems like a lot. Using AS5, let it set a few days temps droped maybe 1-2C but im still high over ambient. Should i take the gpu out of the loop? Thanks everyone for any input and suggestions.

get a bigger HC.that seems to be your main problem. unless you mounted the cpu block wrong. try reseating it

tried resetting it a bunch of times, no differnce.....man i thought the chevette heater core was big :( guess if i get a new HC time to get a new case. Merry Xmass to me :D

use the #4 nozzle, cause theres a good chance that the #5 for you is cloged. that is the main reason why most ppl stay away fron the #5. also what are you using in your water? water wetter, anti-frezze?

IMHO 50°C at load is ok for a CPU running at 25000MHz :p and it's also not too high for running at 2500MHz.

And how far do you expect the temps to drop by removing the GPU block? I guess you will be dissapointed when you try it, <3-5°C (guessed).

try another rad or fan setup first...

only thing in my water is distilled and some highlighter fluid. I guess im a little disapointed because i see some people with 30C temps. it just seems like im way off. if my comp not overclocked my temps at idle ar 44C