• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

new to watercooling

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

realms

Registered
I'm not new to overclocking, however i am new to doing it on an intel platform and with watercooling. I used to have this heatsink: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=35-109-012&depa=0 (SP-94) with a tornado fan mounted ontop of it. My temperatures used to be about 38 degrees on my p4 2.8ghz in bios and i never paid attention to them in windows. I recently upgraded to watercooling for the first time and i'm looking at idle temperatures right now at 43 degrees on motherboard monitor 5, for watercooling on a pentium 4 does this seem right? Im guessing it might be the thermal paste application, i usually put it on really thick but a friend advised me not to this time and i listened.

Last edited:
Also under full load the max the temp has gotten (with mbm5 heatup tool) is about 46 degrees.

well never mind, i went up to 53 C after almost an hr at 100% constant load, damnit.

That doesn't seem right, watercooling is supposed to run cooler than aircooling. Maybe you didn't secure it completely, check the thermal paste, maybe you didn't do enough, although you really don't need much more than a super-thin coating if you do it right.

Try to reapply the waterblock again. I have never done watercooling but not long ago I had to reinstall my heatsink and my temps dropped from 58C to 47C on load. 58C was pretty scary.

galador said:
Try to reapply the waterblock again. I have never done watercooling but not long ago I had to reinstall my heatsink and my temps dropped from 58C to 47C on load. 58C was pretty scary.

Yeah i just ordered some more arctic silver and a fan controller, im thinking thats the problem at least i hope it is :(. thnx for the input.