• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to build a custom metal shroud

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

vbbartlett

Registered
There have been questions about working with sheet metal to create a shroud, so I said I would write a little [edit:long] how-to/tips for creating a shroud.

Please note that this is directed toward how to create a shroud, it is not designed to give you the best design. Although I will describe how to create different styles of shrouds, I have no experience with the efficiency of these designs. With that disclaimer lets get to it.

The first step is to have a heater core and fans. For instance the shroud that I last made was for the 77 b'ville and I wanted to use 3-92mm fans. When choosing the fan sizes I often refer to this site for help and information about airflow, fan speed and noise. Remember that the purpose of a shroud is to help direct efficient airflow through the heater core. But efficient airflow also has to consider the noise generated by the fans. One of the nice properties of water cooling is the fact that the machine should be quieter than it was originally... And just like a water flow through water blocks, the more air that is moved throught the heater core the more effective the heater core will be. So if you are only considering performance of the heater core, choose large fans that are capable of moving massive amount of air.

Anyway once you have selected the heater core and have considered how much air flow you want, you should next determine how the shroud will attack to the heater core and how and where it will attach inside/outside the case. This decision will drasticallly effect the design you will create.