• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

does 30*C mares a difference ??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

XmomoX

Registered
Elo all,
My names Mike and im from Poland. Im a total newbie in extream overclocking. Got myself peltier, but allready burned two PSUs on it :(((

Im starting having doubts...

My system:
AMD 1700+ (11x200) 1,925V 39*C - 44*C (stress)
My liquid cooling works perfectly, but appetite grows why eating (drinking) :beer: So got myself a 227W TEC all way from Indianapolis. That mashine is a current eater and I am afraid of malfunctions and CPU burnout.

Please share your experiences with Peltier systems. Is 30*C (as i calculated) temperature reduction really makes a diference? Would it allow the CPU to go 11,5? FSB is limmited by not adjustable system voltage (Epox 8RDA+ v1.1).

THX

Burned out two PSU's :eek: That's not so good.

To start with, that were the ratings of those PSU's? You can't run a pelt like that from a regular computer psu unless it is huge. You need a PUS that is rated for at least 25 amps at 12V, and if you intend to run the computer from the same psu, you should have something more like 35.

As far as overclocking , it is hard to say. If everything works right, a 30 degree temp drops sounds about right. This could alow you to go faster, or it might not. It will alow you to put more voltage into your cpu without frying it though, which should help you go faster.

I used (& burned) adjustable PSUs 0 - 30V x 0 - 20A. Well I think the only way is to buy 300W ATX PSU and shortcircuit the power on wire. But 12V x 24A would give only about 180W of heat pump power. Than the temperature drop will be even smaller.