• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to watercooling, would like opinions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tiggerr77

Registered
As I said in the subject, I am new to watercooling. I am trying to figure out what to do. I am not overclocking my chip, I just want less noise. I have too many fans in my case, and they all add up to "too loud." I currently have a mid-tower case, with 80mm fan locations. I have considered getting a different case, such as an Antec SOHO PlusView 1000AMG, but whether I get a new case or keep my existing one, I don't want to mod the case. So that pretty much leaves me with 80mm solutions, instead of 120mm.

At any rate, I have been considering two options. I know that some people are violently opposed to kits, but bear with me. Like I said, it's more to keep noise down, rather than assist with overclocking. The kit I'm considering is the Swiftech H20-8600 kit with the optional second radiator.

The other option would be to build it myself. Here are the parts I'm considering:
- Pump: Swiftech MCP600 or the Hydor L35.
- Radiator: Black Ice Micro II
- Reservoir: A dual 3.5" bay res, or single 5.25" bay res
- Tubing: Either 1/2" or 3/8" ID
- CPU Waterblock: Undecided. Maybe DangerDen TDX, Swiftech MCW5000-P or MCW6002-P , Koolance CPU-300-V13, or maybe another I haven't found yet
- VGA Waterblock: Again undecided. Maybe a Maze4 or Swiftech MCW50

So there you have it. I don't really want to use the Chevette heater core for this computer. (When I get another system to "play" with, maybe I'll do the full customer route.)