• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Watch me torch my 9800pro! (pics)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MoonWolf

Fold For 32!
Well, I almost did. I did this when I was a complete noob to watercooling, so please don't flame me :cry:. Basically, when I got my MCW5000A, I just screwed the barbs in without silicone gasket sealer. I leak tested for 48 hours and the system actually ran for about 8 days before one of the barbs sprang a leak and almost killed my 9800 Pro. Thank god I put that northbridge fan there, otherwise I'd be short $250.

DSC00431.JPG

DSC00432.JPG

DSC00433.JPG

Fixed. The original directory was "almost torched my "sheeat"".

I can see on the pics that the barbs are not all the way down to the block. Are this the pics you toke after unscrewing them or did you use it like that? Because the barbs need to be alll the way down, until its fixed to the top. I always use silcone sealant in all my blocks, as a security precaution, if not i wouldnt sleep at night ;)
Im glad that you didnt get anything destroyed by that leak.

Waterbug said:
I can see on the pics that the barbs are not all the way down to the block. Are this the pics you toke after unscrewing them or did you use it like that? Because the barbs need to be alll the way down, until its fixed to the top. I always use silcone sealant in all my blocks, as a security precaution, if not i wouldnt sleep at night ;)
Im glad that you didnt get anything destroyed by that leak.

I tightened them down as far as I could using a monkey wrench, apparently it was either not meant to be tightened down any further or it MUST be used with silicone sealant in order for it to be leak-proof. I wouldn't know, since "real men don't read instructions :sn:."