• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

watercooling worth it for pure gaming? not benchmarking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

AntonioBanderas

Disabled
This new watercooling system I was planning on getting is expensive. I do not want to have to spend all of this cash for a 3 mhz increase. Would I be better off just getting an SLK heatsink with tornado fan to save cash or even a zalman to save even more cash?

I am not experienced in modding in any way. I just want to be able to overclock a Geforce 6800 GT to Ultra speeds or even higher and OC my Athlon 64 3200+ a decent amount. I want to raise it so it makes a significant difference in my gaming and so I won't have to upgrade for a long time.

Any opinions would be appreciated, thanks.

Of course it's your box and you can OC and WC for the hell of it, but why do either when your HW can run circles around any game on the market and a few that are still vaporware, as is? My opinion is that you should wait and see what D3 and HL2 bring before you consider heroic performance enhancements.

Well, I would just aircool it. I know I'm limited by my board and not cooling, and we have the same chipset.

I would just gow ith the zalman CPS7000 or whatever for the gpu, and a big copper heatsink on the gpu and some big ramsinks. I think that would let you OC a decent amount, and not cost too much.

It's all about how much you want to OC versus how much you want to spend. My current rig (I had a 9800Pro 256mb oc'd to XT speeds) was more than enough to play any game on the market with full details. I'm not a benchmark nazi, I don't even have 3DM01 or 03 or even AquaMark on my machine. I use my computing power for games.