• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Video encoding

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Yuriman

Sorry if this isnt the right place....Ive never asked a question on this before. Anyway, to the point.

I am an encoding noob. I purchased a copy of DVDx, and currently am using it to to back up my dvd's to my hard drive. Right now I am happy with mpeg4, it seems fast and has good quality for it's size. I tried divx first, but the colors seem washed out. Im targeting for 768kbs(640/480, 24B rgb), any lower and it looks blocky. Even with this high bitrate, the movie is still small. I was wondering if there any any better codecs out there though, or if I should change something, maybe get better quality with lower bitrate? Sorry if im being vague.

Ohh, and im running it in P4 mode. I figured that meant that it used SSE2(which the Athlon64 does have, right?), but there arent other optimisations I dont know about are there?

Yuriman said:
Sorry if this isnt the right place....Ive never asked a question on this before. Anyway, to the point.

I am an encoding noob. I purchased a copy of DVDx, and currently am using it to to back up my dvd's to my hard drive. Right now I am happy with mpeg4, it seems fast and has good quality for it's size. I tried divx first, but the colors seem washed out. Im targeting for 768kbs(640/480, 24B rgb), any lower and it looks blocky. Even with this high bitrate, the movie is still small. I was wondering if there any any better codecs out there though, or if I should change something, maybe get better quality with lower bitrate? Sorry if im being vague.

Ohh, and im running it in P4 mode. I figured that meant that it used SSE2(which the Athlon64 does have, right?), but there arent other optimisations I dont know about are there?