• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Thermosiphon cooling

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rudnik68

Hello all,

I am brand new to watercooling trying to find a wb with low resistance to try a new cooling idea. I am going to try to cool a chip with no pump, using a thermosiphon - has anyone seen this done before?

Basically, a thermosiphon is natural convection that is caused by density changes as the temperature of water changes. A thermosiphon system could cool a processor with no moving parts (if there was enough heat transfer area), but would probably need a fan to get enough heat transfer to keep the fluid at a reasonable temperature. Thermosiphons are dependent on the difference in bouyancy between hot water and cold water and require an elevation change to work.

The following link shows a schematic of a thermosiphonhttp://www.sunearthinc.com/sunsiphon_system.htm

I have to admit I got this idea from cooling mechanical pump seals
ftp://ftp.aesseal.co.uk/downloads/pub/literature/L-UK-SSE10.pdf
The pdf has a picture that shows the sealpot connected to a mechanical pump seal - substitute a waterblobk for the seal - and you have my desired setup. I've been told that a 10°C difference between hot fluid and cold fluid will provide sufficient (1+ GPM) flow for a pump seal.

Does anyone know of a low resistance waterblock that might work for this application?

Thanks in advance,
Aaron