• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cpu 20f above enviromental temp

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JONTHEMON

I have a watercooled setup, and my cpu always stays about 20 degrees ferenheight abouve the temperature in my room. Example: it is 85 f in my room right now and my cpu is at 40 c (104 f)

Does this indacate that my watercooling setup sucks, rocks, or is ok????

Oh and my friend said that i need to get rid of a 90 degree plastic adapter coming off my water pump. Is this true?

Any feedback is much appreciated especially since im a noob. (built my first computer 3 months ago)

It sounds decent, the performance of your system isnt anything to be googled at compared to other watercooled systems, but it's doing allright.

And yes, 90 degree adapters cause flow restriction. It puts more strain on your pump and lowers flow rates across your whole system. If you can, eliminate any 90 degree elbows.

those temps seem high, especially if they are not at full load, but we need to consider more things

to start off, many motherboards are inacurate (as are many ways of testing temperature of the cpu). for example, i have 2 motherboards listed in my signature. on the asus, i got temp readings of about 28C - 32C load. on my gigabyte mobo i get readings between 37C and 43C. all of my quoted temps are after reseating my waterblock at least 3 times(5+ on the gigabyte) with a room temp of 69F and using motherboard monitor 5. so the temps you are seeing might not be the true temps.

it would help if you listed your motherboard, processor, and all the components in your watercooling system. that will give us an idea of what we are dealing with.

also, your load temps would give a better idea of the temp. to get your computer running full steam, id use prime 95 in torture test mode.