• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Suggestions on Budget Watercooling anyone?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Enigma.xL

Registered
I'm totally new to watercooling, in fact I've never done it. I was wondering if anyone could give me suggestions on what to buy for a watercooling setup. I'm mainly interested in just cooling the processor. I need something simple and easy, and something that won't burn a hole in my pocket. I'm not all that much into making stuff on my own either, but if theres something I can do an easy mod to and make taht work that's cool.

How much do you want to spend on it? Some consider sub-$100 budget, some sub-$150.

Anywho, a decent really cheap setup would go something like this:

$15 via aqua pump
$20 Chevette heater core (or $25 for a Dtek core if you want it to be easy)
$40 Swiftech 6002
$10 120mm fan of some kind. The aluminum Evercool ones are nice.
$15 tubes and misc fittings.

good luck
i have been puting money back for my water cooling but i have read alot of info and i am not going to water cool with junk you know better to save and pay for the better stuff that will perform

Enigma.xL said:
I'm looking to spend 100$ tops
Honestly, you are better off saving a few more bucks and getting good quality components that will last you. The Swiftech 6002 is the block I would get right now, no matter the price, the fact that it is considered budget is just a bonus. I would personally stay away from the via pumps... go ehiem or Laing (12v) and you wont need to deal with a pump for a long time. Then all you need is a rad and some tubing.