• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

WC Beginner - Help & Comments Plz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

vapo

Hi all,

I am new to watercooling and have a few questions on which I hope you can help.

System Specs:
===========
Chieftec BigTower Dragon
AMD XP 2200+ (133 FSB)
MSI K7N2 Delta-L
2*Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 120GB (Raid0)
Plan Upgrade to: Sapphire 9800 Pro 128MB 256Bit
768MB DDR333 (PC2700)
Zalman APF 400 (380W)
DVD-Burner
CD-Burner

So, I plan my first Watercooling Setup. I picked the following Parts:

Watercooling Setup:
===============
Radiator: Aqua Computer Airplex Evo 240
Pump: Eheim 1048 600l/h (~158 US-Gallones/h)
Reservoir: Innovatek Reservoir for Eheim Pumps
CPU: Aqua Computer Evo Rev. 1.1 CPU-Cool
GPU: Aqua Computer Twinplex GCardCooler
HDD: hmm???
Northbridge: hmm???
Temp-Controller-Display: hmm???

Questions:
========
1) If Im cooling all those parts of my system, do i need a casefan anyway? (if yes, where place it best? 80mm?)

2) Does the Pump Eheim 1048 have enough power (gph) to serve my system? I've read that the Eheim 1250 produces a lot more noise.

3) What do you think of the Components? Can you recommend me some alternatives? Im also hoping to bring down the prize a little more.

4) Should I use two 120mm Fans to cool the Radiator or will one be sufficient? Will there be room for OC or do I need a bigger Radiator for that?

sorry for the bad english,
thx & greez,
vapo

Okaly, First Always get a Heater core not a radator, i'm sure everyone here will say the same thing.
1) I have 1 case fan, thats because without it my MOSFETS get extremely Hot, I have it sorta stuck facing downwards pointing at the MOSFETS on the mobo.