• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best Memory for an XP Mobile At My Pricepoint/Goals? (+General Memory Questions)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Xdrive

Hi, I'm a newb. :D Now on to business...

I'm planning on building a budget gaming rig, and like most people in my position, I'm looking for great performance at low cost. Athlon Mobile 2600+ at guaranteed "I" stepping seems to be the CPU for me. And I know I'm getting an NF7-S. Now how about the RAM?

I figure I can reasonably afford about $100 worth of RAM to get me by for a little while. At the MOST --> $120. Again, I stress how I'm on a really tight budget. My OC goal is to get a rock-solid 2400MHz to 2500MHz fully stable. That would be great! I already have an SLK900a and a 92mm Tornado is on the way.

I've been reading great things about different $130 to $160 - 512mb sticks of RAM, but is that stuff really necessary to achieve what I'm looking to get out of the OC?

For instance, OCZ EB seems to be legendary on some level, but I can't find any of it anywhere for my price range.

So I'm basically just looking for opinions here as to which RAM I should go with for my budget pricepoint in order to hit the performance goals I have.

I really appreciate any and all help I can get. Thanks! :)

PS: What's the difference between THIS CORSAIR and THAT CORSAIR ?

And also, what's the track record for refurbished RAM? This PC3200 Hyper-X, RIGHT HERE, is pretty much in my price range. Should it do everything that a new stick of the same stuff would do?

Again, I really appreciate your help!