• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Water Cooling for an AMD Athlon 64 3400?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Swatdog

Hey guys,
First off, I would like to say Hello. This is my first post here. I got myself to register here because there seems to be ALOT of info being past through this forum. :drool:

I have a question...

I'm in the process of building a system (described below in my sig) and I want to over clock the 64 3400 CPU from a 2.2 ghz to approx. 2.6+ ghz. (I'm new to the computer BUILDING world, but not new to computers. Actually I'm a System/Network Technician. Infact I've been working with comps for about 15 years, but anyway...) I was wondering what kind of cooling I would need for my Chipsets and CPU if I decide to OC the CPU that much. I was thinking some sort of a water cooling unit or some sort, or a big @SS heatsink over the CPU. I was wondering if one of you guys could help me find a good, but reasonable in price, cooling unit.

Also, since I'm just starting to build this thing, maybe you guys have any suggestions for my system... Feel free and ask me any questions about my system that would help you better configure stuff for me. ;)

Thanks alot guys,
Swatdog

I am thinking about water cooling my AMD64 3000+ which is currently running at 250x9.0. But it runs hot with the Zalman 7000. Hopefully some watercooled AMD64 users will respond with their results.

I am thinking of using basically the Dangerden kit with the RBX block.