• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

partions and files

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

wizard james

ok.. i am kind of new to this (not computers tho.. look at my stars lol)

i just installed windows on my computer. theres a 4 gig partion with all the system files on it.

i know the desktop is on that part too. and i have a 145 gb partion for the rest of my files

what i want to know is..when i install files on it does they auto go to the small partion has its C .. or will they go to D ..the 2ed partion ..the large one

also the D partion has all the files in blue writeing.. i dont know why..

my main question is can i have my desktop files on my large drive partion????

Your desktop files are pulled from a folder within documents and settings under your username... That folder cannot be moved or redirected AFAIK - you do not want extremely large files on your desktop though anyways, as it can slow things down.

Everything defaults to installing within the program files folder on C usually. Nothing will default to installing on the secondary partition or drive, though you can configure them to do so through most installation applications. However, some programs will insist on installing some files to the C partition. In my experience, 4 GB is far too small to allot for the system and program file partition - installing programs on the secondary partition is not optimal, they should be installed in with windows.

You should also allot enough room for the pagefile on your system partition, unless you are moving it to a seperate disk altogether.

Last edited:
ahh .... ok so i shold just ...format the whole hdd. split the hdd in 2 .. 80 gigs each

and just install windows on the 80 gig.. and all programs i put in it. then have the other 80 for files of pictures. music and other stuff???