• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My temps are kinda stinky... help me, i'm a noob!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cracker1082

Registered
Hey guys, this is my first post in the forum, although i've been reading it almost every day for a couple of months. Anyway, i finished setting up my watercooling (after weeks of hardships and problems), and i'm getting temps. that are kinda below my liking..

Heres what i got in there:

D4 12V Pump
DD TDX CPU Block
BIX Rad
Modded 5 1/2 Reservoir (shortened in length)
SilverProp Cyclone Fusion HL

I'm runnin an Athlon 64 3200+ (2.2 Ghz) at 2.53 ghz at 1.6 volts. My Vid card is an ATI Radeon 9800XT.

Before watercooling, i would be getting idle temps of around 41 degrees C on my CPU, stock. And about 70 degrees C on my vid card in idle, stock as well. I installed the cooling last night and my vid card was getting crazy temps around 80 degrees, so i went out an bought some nuts and washers and tightened the block down to the card tighter, and now it reads about 53 degrees celcius, idle, stock. My CPU in idle is now around 34-35 degrees celcius.

I know its an improvement from the temperatures without cooling, but shouldnt it be better? I mean, i read people that get their video cards down to about 30 degrees celcius, and that's at full load. I know i got enough grease on the cpu and gpu, could it be that the radiator is too small to cool both blocks?? I dont really have enough room in my case for another radiator, or a bigger one, its a tight enough fit with the current setup.

If anyone has any suggestions, comments, help, anything i'd be most grateful.

PS. Please dont lash out too harshly if i did somethin wrong, i'm a noob. :confused: