• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Melted molex - MCW50T (pics)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Overbrazil

Hi, i am running my Radeon 9800 pro fine with a Swiftech mcw50T. I was checking the water stuff ,then i noticed the molex that feed the peltier is melted...
It is only a 80w pelt. Should i need to replace the molex or it is just fine ?
P1010120.JPG

melt.JPG

melted3.JPG

melted.JPG

thanks

by the looks of that id say you had an exposed wire, or you had too much going thru it...defininently insulate that exposed wire, temporarily, then replace that thing! get a stronger grade of wire just to be on the safe side.

i'm an electronics tech. maybe i can lend some info.
80W pelt... runs on 12V right? so yeah, at least 6amps of draw thru what looks like 14gauge wire...not good. bump up the wire size to at least a 12 or 10 (10 would definitely be good) and make sure you insulate the leads well in a new molex, good amount of solder on the pins. that should prevent a recurance :)

thanks, i dont know what happened, it is working great. What i know is that get very hot...
Cfn Nexus, the tec is rated at 12v. It draws 8A at the 12v line. I was running a dedicated psu , so the voltage over there was about 11.7
MadSkillzMan, i was thinking soldering the wires instead of using a molex...
Good idea ?

Attachments

• P1010009.JPG
    P1010009.JPG
    33 KB · Views: 247
Overbrazil said:
thanks, i dont know what happened, it is working great. What i know is that get very hot...
Cfn Nexus, the tec is rated at 12v. It draws 8A at the 12v line. I was running a dedicated psu , so the voltage over there was about 11.7
MadSkillzMan, i was thinking soldering the wires instead of using a molex...
Good idea ?