• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

new water cooling setup ... arrangement

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

HeLLz aNgeL

Registered
Ok, i'm a reletive newbie in the water cooling scene, and recently bought my stuff off ebay.

Here is the stuff:

*CPU Block: MCW6002-P

*GPU Block: MCW50

*Resevoir: MODIFIED Criticool Waterplant.

*Pump: MODIFIED Mag3

*Heater Core: Fedco 2-342.

*Blower: FASCO 540! Cfm squirrel cage blower.

*Box: measures 21.5” long by 16.5” wide, by 12.5” tall.

Ok, now here comes my problem:

I was planning to put the whole box on the floor, about 2-3 feet UNDER the highest (CPU) block, but if the reservoir is that much below the system, it would certainly create problems (right?). Now i had another idea, and i'd appreciate it if you could help me figure out if this one was ok or not.

What i figured i could do was to put only the reservoir ABOVE the CPU block (and the casing). I can either attach it to my case or my PC table, that wont be any problem, but if i do that, what loop should i use ? Most people recommended this loop before the problem arose: Resevoir, pump, drain valve, heater core, CPU block, GPU block, resevoir, repeat.

this effectively means that the water will be going DOWN from the reservoir, (about 3-4 feet) into the heater core, and would then need to be pumped UP another 3 feet to the blocks and further UP to the reservoir again. Would this work ?!!

Placing the whole box and system ABOVE the casing would be a near impossible task so i need to know if this set up will do fine ? Also, if you have any alternative, please do let me know.

Thanks in advance guys !