• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cooling My PC... Question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

chiliandcheese

Hello,

I am new to overclocking, and I am planning on overclocking my system soon. I have a question or two before I purchase anything.

I have a self-built computer and the specs are:
AMD XP 3200+
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro (128MB)
ANUS A7N8X ATX Motherboard
1GB of DDR-SDRAM PC3200
M-Audio Audiophile Sound Card

Everything is defaulted in bios...

This is what CPU-Z looks like on my system:
0001.jpg

I am looking to get the most out of my computer. What would you all suggest I get with a $150-$250 budget?

Thanks for all your help!

Last edited:
chiliandcheese said:
Hello,

I am new to overclocking, and I am planning on overclocking my system soon. I have a question or two before I purchase anything.

I am looking to get the most out of my computer. What would you all suggest I get with a $150-$250 budget?

Thanks for all your help!

Why don't you start overclocking with whatever you have currently (stock heatsink?), find out what your limitations are (what issue is preventing you from overclocking higher? heat? ram? cpu?), and then decide what you really need to improve your overclock and/or performance.

I would get the latest block from swiftech if you can't get a hand me down used waterblock made by cathar, an mcp600/650 (not sure which is better currently, though I would assume the 650 is), tell everyone what case you have and where you would like to fit a heatercore, and wait for responses. I would not get a heatercore from any water cooling retailer.

personaly i would suggest getting as much OCing with air as you can before making a dive into WCing. then i would go read the stickies because almost all questions are answered there