• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

IC7-g, P4Northword 3.0 temp

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

FishD

I know its probably been discussed, but this kind of info can help others.

At stock speed, no OC Im getting 52C in the bios diagnostics, and similar probably 48C in speedfan. I have a coolmaster, large copper cooler (sorry don't know the model). Given that the ABIT temp readout can be a bit askew, is this still a bit high, for that setup.

Under full load with prime95, it goes up to 64 in speedfan.

Thanks for all comments.

Fish

Well for one, your heatsink probably isnt too great. Its decent I'm sure, but there is a lot better out there, and the one you have probably isn't good for overclocking. Second, Abit motherboards usually read anywhere from 10-13C too high, while Asus boards usually read 5-8C too low. This was a test a site did, you can read it in full here

So at stock your looking at 35-40C probably, possibly higher...not bad, but it could be better. At load its around 50C...thats getting a little high, you probably won't do too well with overclocking, but that sink is probably better than stock. Get a Thermalright if you can. :)

gustav said:
Get a Thermalright if you can. :)

Thats good advice. I did not spend much time / money choosing the cooler, and it was nearly 18 months ago.

Can you recomend a best/second best choice thermalright coolers for my CPU?

Thanks

Fish

I had a Volcano 7+ and the load would vary from 59-64C depending on the ambient room temperature. I have an Ic7-G.

The ic7-G is going to run a bit hot. From my experience it is a bit warmer than the Is7-E and Ai7.