• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Memory Questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Celeron_Phreak

I'm fairly new to DDR memory, just started using a DDR system last fall and I must say....WOW. It's SOO much faster than SDRAM.

Anyway. I came here to ask some questions about it.

>>>First Question<<<
I have a stick of Mushkin 512MB PC3200, and then I have a stick of 512MB Centon PC3500 (haven't been able to find it anywhere since I bought it, not even on the net). They seem to run dual channel in my A7N8X. Putting them in slots 1 and 3, or 2 and 3 enables it. Now I've read that dual channel doesn't make much of a differance, if even one at all, withe AMD XPs, since the pipelines are soo close to the memory as it is, and Intel procs are further (so DC is better to use in Intel systems).

So I install the RAM in dual channel mode, and I was getting 36xx scores in 3Dmark03. If I didn't have them in DC mode, I get 35xx scores. So has this really improved much at all??

>>>Second Question<<<
I went through my BIOS settings and I noticed you can change a lot of the memory settings. Them being:

Memory Frequency
Memory Timing
SDRAM Active Precharge Delay [7]
SDRAM RAS to CAS Delay
SDRAM RAS Perchnge Delay [1]
SDRAM CAS Latency [2.5T]
FSB Speed Sprectrum
DDR Reference Voltage

Me being new to DDR and all the RAM stuff, have no idea as to what all this is used for. I looked at the memory sticky in these forums and I don't really want to buy a book right now, since I'm broke.