• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Why pc4000?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

alphagojo

Registered
As you all can see, this is my first post, and I am pretty much a total noob. I am looking to build my first computer, and have a friend that insists on me putting 1gb pc4000 in my system, because he says ram is the main determining factor in ocing ability. I am looking to play a lot of games on the computer and do some ocing, so I do not want to limit my options. The only thing is, is that pc4000 ram is quite expensive, which brings me to my next point: Kingmax 1gb pc4000 for 200 bucks. Please help me out on whether I need pc4000 or not, and your opinions on Kingmax. Thanks alot to whoever helps me out! :)

what cpu do you plan to use? what motherboard? all pc4000 means is that you can overclock your processor to 250fsb and keep the ram running 1 to 1 with the fsb. if you went with pc3200, you would get no guarantees on the ram past 200fsb. and the best you will probably do for a decent brand of pc3200 would be 160-170 new last i looked so if you plan on overclocking the pc4000 may be worth the extra 30-40$

edit: and i have never used kingmax but ive seen the name tossed about here, if you searched for it i would imagine you would get a wealth of info on the subject