• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

n00b with p4b266

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

hunor_nam

Registered
Hi all,

I'm really new to ocing... so please bear with me.
First of, my specs:

p4b266 rev 2 bios 1010
1.6a Willamante
stock cooling - i guess :)
256 DDR 2700 - no name i guess
inno gf3 ti 200

i got this buil recently, from components bought second hand :)
of courese i started documenting for ocing....
what i doo is i try to run defalut volt and going up on fsb

i'm stabel on 123 fsb (prime95 torture, pcmarck, 3dmark) but nothing above...
on 125 i get bsod in plain windows...

i use motherbord monitor 5:
idle cpu temp: arround 25c
prime torture test cpu temp gets up to 42-43c
cpu fan always betven 4150 - 4250
video fan around 5600

problems:
in jumper free mode, when ocing from bios, i cant set agp/pci frec. ? is it locked? how can i check it?

if i use switches, than i can set agp/pci bus but can't give more vcore.... :(

so i'm afraid doing it from bios till i cant check agp\pci bus... have anny idea?

would it be a good idea to get a nortwood cpu? (i would get something at the same speed) i read some bad reviews...

how could i find out specs for the ram.

Thanks in advance, and keep up the good job :)

Is your CPU a Willamette? Maybe check CPU-Z to make sure. The 1.6A is Northwood... if it's a Willamette it's a 1.6 (no "A"). The Northwood will O/C much better.

I'm not 100% positive, but I don't think that mobo has a PCI lock. If there is anyway you can run at 133 FSB, then the 1/4 PCI divider automatically kicks in. But, if that is a Willamette CPU, you might not be able to run at 133 FSB.

Your temps look good, so try increasing the vcore a notch or two and try 133 FSB. Cross your fingers for luck.

Yep is a Willy :) sorry for the "a"...