• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P4P800 Dlx - Hitting a wall

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

marder

Hello all and congrats for the informative forums !

I am a newbie in the OC field and want to see what my system is able to reach.

I have a P4P800 dlx, Northwood 3.2 GHz, 2*512 MB of PC-400/3200 "OEM" DDR RAM (2.5-4-4-8). Standard fan cooler, 300W PSU. Using Asus BIOS 1018.

I have been able to OC the FSB to 225 (3.60 GHz) and the system is stable, idle CPU temp around 45 C, with the memory still at 1:1 (400 MHz), AGP/PCI locked at 33/66 and all other settings on "Auto".

Now if I try to OC it a notch further at 226, the system hangs (GUI frozen, no BSD), but at a very late stage of the boot process : XP desktop is displayed and some startup applications, like the anti-virus have already icons in the notification area.

Whatever tweak I try to apply to the settings, like changing voltages, RAM timings or FSB/memory ratio it always hangs at that (late) boot stage with a frequency of 226 or higher.

Before you tell me that my system has insufficient cooling, power or crap memory, which I already know by having read some other threads, I would like to know if anybody has an idea of why I am hitting this wall at 226 MHz, while the system is perfectly stable and not overstressed when configured one notch below ?
I had the feeling that the system would gradually experience problems or overheat when the FSB would be pushed higher, not that it would suddenly stop working at a given rate.

M.

marder said:
I have been able to OC the FSB to 225 (3.60 GHz) and the system is stable, idle CPU temp around 45 C

That is way too high for your idle temp.
If you meant your load temp, increase your vcore to 1.575, 1.6 at the most and change ram voltage to 2.85