• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Which pump?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PreservedSwine

Howdy fellow Overclockers! I'm putting together my first water cooled computer, but can't decide between (2) pumps.

The Swiftec MPC 650 12V DC pump

The AuqaXtreme 50Z-DC12

Both are magneically driven, brushless motor 12VDC pumps, but I can't decide between them.

This is my first attempt, I'll be using it to cool my P42.6C cpu, Intel chipset, and R9500GPU with a dual Radiator (120MM two fans)
Any suggestions appreciated.

So the aquaXtreme would be the one to grab? (9 watts, less pump heat?) but flow about the same? How is that possible?

My head begins hurting after reading all that.

I do have one question, though. It seems that magnetically driven pumps are almost soley reccomended, but is the lack of a shaft seal the only reason for this? In a magnetically driven pump, nearly all the heat generated from the jet pump is transfered right back into the water. The entire face of the motor is in direct contact (on the wet-end side) with the water. With a traditional motor and shaft designed pump, the wet-end is seperated from the motor, the "shaft" of the pump the only item that is capable of heat transer. I would think that less heat transer=desirable.

But is that overwhelmed by a shaft-seals (lack of) relibability? Leaks being of extreme improtance, and the magnetically driven pumps having but one o-ring that might fail, the shaft seal has several potential faults...

Sorry if this just went Off-topic, but just curious...

Oh yeah, and am I right in going with the aquaXtreme? :-/

Color me impatient, just ordered the AquaXtreme (fomerly kown as the MCP600)