• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I'm at a crossroad!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Cerberus2k7

Drifto Mexicano
Hey all, i'm posting here because I am at a really big crossroad with my next system. I will be building a custom case so my decision will be final I hope. :p I'm not sure if I want to go SMP or single CPU. I was planning on getting an A64 3200-3500 and watercool it, but now i'm starting to wonder if getting a dual Xeon would be best. I keep going back and forth on what I want! Quick background on what this rig will be used for...

Multimedia and CG using Photoshop, Dreamweaver, AutoCAD, 3Ds Max, alittle bit of Maya mainly. I am also a gamer and I know that SMP is worse in gaming that single CPUs but is it really that much worse? I am a college student right now trying to get my AA in Architectural Design/Engineering and my BS in 3D Animation. I will most likely be selling my current rig to help with funds but I really need help making my decision to go SMP or not, and if I do, what chips/RAM/Mobo, etc...? Thanks in advance. :D

If you're a student, I'm going to assume your funds have a limit to them. Thus, I would go with dual socket A's (XP-M). Would be cheaper, and would be fine for many years for rendering.
Gaming wise, you might not fair quite as well, but the FPS would be acceptable.

I'd say 1.6 LV xeons (110 bucks)
PC-DL (160-200)
Wind tunnels (25)
20-24 and 4-8 pin PSU adapter (15)
This combo uses regular non-reg non-ECC RAM too. They're OCing very well and at the cost you can't beet it! Your PSU should handle this setup fine as well so you just need the adapters.

As far as SMP in games, it's just not multithreaded so it's like playing a game with just one CPU of the same speed.

good luck