• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

System *sometimes* reboots right after loading Windows?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

KillrBuckeye

I'm relatively new to overclocking, so I was wondering if this would be considered normal behavior for a system that might need a little more CPU core voltage. By default, my XP 2100+ TBred runs at 133 MHz clock (266 FSB) with a multiplier of 13 (1733 MHz). However, since I have been learning about overclocking, I realized that I wasted money on my Crucial PC2700 unless I raised the FSB to at least 333 MHz. So, I did exactly that--I raised CPU clock to 166 MHz and lowered the multiplier to 10.5 for a total of 1743 MHz. I even pushed the mutiplier higher--up to 11.5 for a total of 1909 MHz, and the system ran fine on the default CPU voltage for several days. I could run Prime95 torture test for several hours with no errors; however, I didn't do an overnight test or anything.

Just when everything seemed fine, I turned on my PC one morning and it automatically rebooted right after Windows XP loaded. I believe the OS was totally loaded and the utility programs (Asus PC Probe, Anti-Virus, etc.) were in the process of loading. Sometimes, on the second boot it would make it into Windows just fine and exhibited no stability problems. Other times, it was a continuous cycle of rebooting. In these cases, I had to lower the multiplier or FSB to get into Windows without a reboot.