• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

overclocking Dual Xeon 3.06Ghz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RADCOM

Registered
I have dual xeon 3.06Ghz 533MHz and Asus NCCH-DL motherboard. I'm new to overclocking and I've read some of the tuts here but I'm still a little hesitant. I am also considering water coooling as I had an Innovatek w/c system before but water blocks for Xeons seem to be thin on the ground. I have 2 x 512MB of ballistix Pc3200 or 4 x256MB RAM BO Pc3200Bh-5. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

well for the RAM try everything....the xeons should be downward multiplier unlocked so you'd probably want to drop to the lowest multiplier setting and go for 200 FSB....then start messing around with higher freq's and multipliers.
Watercooling is definetly good, and you also might want to do U wire mods to up the voltage as well (search online for U wire mod and xeon and you'll find what I'm talking about)

Welcome to the forums

ajrettke said:
well for the RAM try everything....the xeons should be downward multiplier unlocked so you'd probably want to drop to the lowest multiplier setting and go for 200 FSB....then start messing around with higher freq's and multipliers.
Watercooling is definetly good, and you also might want to do U wire mods to up the voltage as well (search online for U wire mod and xeon and you'll find what I'm talking about)

Welcome to the forums
I tried setting the motherboard jumpers to 200fsb and low multiplier but hte PC wouldn't boot :(
I'll try the u wire mod when I change the heatsinks there's not much room for watercooling so I may try the coolermaster heatpipe heatsinks.
Any other assistance gratefully accepted.

RADCOM said:
I tried setting the motherboard jumpers to 200fsb and low multiplier but hte PC wouldn't boot :(