• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help troubleshoot my custom PC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JohnRChick

Hey! I'm new to custom building, and I'm having some trouble. I just bought parts to build my first computer. (sorry in advanced for the long post, but im really running out of ideas here) Here's what I have:

1. Pentium 4 @ 2.4ghz (with large heatsink)
2. 512 OCZ DDR RAM PC4200
3. Ati 9600 All-in-Wonder Video Card (agp)
4. Abit ai7/ai7-g Motherboard
5. POWMAX ATX Case with 400 Watt Power Supply
6. 120 Gb hard drive (not sure the brand)
7. Samsung CDRW
8. Floppy drive.

Ok, I originally had a intel motherboard, but I ended up returning it, because I thought it was causing the problem that I was having, but it turned out its not.

So, I just put all the parts in. I made sure to connected BOTH power cables to the motherboard (the square + rectangle). I have the hard drive set to Master and its connected to IDE1 on the motherboard. I have a a CDRW set on Master and connected to IDE2 on the motherboard. I also have the floppy plugged in and hooked up. The video card is installed (it doesn't require extra power from the PSU). The motherboard and all peripherals are also screwed in correctly. I connected the lights for the case and the power/reset buttons to the motherboard. Now here's the problem:

I power on the system, and everything starts, except I get NO video! (the hard drive is running, the cdrw ejects, and the floppy is on).

Here are the troubleshooting steps I've taken:
1. Switched memory with another similar custom-build pc I have. Still no video
2. Tried the memory in all of the four dimm slots on the motherboard. No video
3. Switched the video card with another computer. This showed me that both video cards work. I still get no video in the new computer.