• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need some help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

woodywoody

Registered
Hey guys, this is my first time here and i am not quite sure if this is the right area to post but it looked ok.

Ok, so here is my problem... I just got all my parts for my comp i am building. I got a socket 939 board from DFI, the lanparty Nvidia 4 chip set. I think its called an Ultra-D with PCI express 16x. Anyway i have a thermal take case with 430W power supply and i have my video card, 6800 Pro, DVD-ROM, DVD-RW and CD-RW hooked up to it. I powered it on and all the fans were working but when i hit power on the case, i heard a POP, a Spark and now it wont shut on. A friend told me try and just connect hte HD, Video card and see if that cuts on but i had to come to work.

Anywho, anyone else have any other suggestions or perhaps know what i screwed up? Hope its nothing lol. This is a comp for my boss and i hope i dont have to buy anything to fix it since obviusly i cant make her pay for it. ANy help would be awesome.

-W

First off...WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!

Well, generally, that ain't good. That could mean a lot of things, including a dead part or a dead psu, or just somthing not connected properly.

Agree with the friends advice, try that out, and then get back to us.

Ok well, before i go home, stupid question. The connectors from the power supply, the ones that are white with like 4 or 5 wires going into them... Are those connectors different from one to the other? What i mean is, are the volts different depending on which one you connect? I dont think they are but i was just wondering...Just wondering if it makes a difference which one i connect to my drives and what not.

-W