PDA

View Full Version : Don't mistype google


Kendan
05-07-05, 03:41 PM
http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/googkle.shtml

:eek: Check out what the site that is only one mistype away, will do to you :eek:

David
05-07-05, 03:44 PM
I'm tempted to try it in Linux just for kicks :D

dicecca112
05-07-05, 03:45 PM
how is that possible, shouldn't a firewall, or a secure browsing client like mozilla or IE properly patched prevent this?

wannaoc
05-07-05, 04:37 PM
how is that possible, shouldn't a firewall, or a secure browsing client like mozilla or IE properly patched prevent this?
I would think any of the decent firewalls would stop this.

Kendan
05-07-05, 05:48 PM
I would think any of the decent firewalls would stop this.

Would stop which part? The site installs many different things using many different exploits!

mysubaruimp
05-07-05, 07:51 PM
Googkle.com isnt a real page. Type it in your address bar, its just a 404 error.

[whois.joker.com]
domain: googkle.com
status: lock
owner: Sergey Gridasov
email: umsoft@yahoo.com
address: Salnevostochny pr., d46, kv410
city: St.-Petersburg
state: Spb
postal-code: 193230
country: RU

Slackfumasta
05-07-05, 07:53 PM
I'm gonna try it on a Linux install in Virtual PC!

Then maybe an XP install under VPC too.

Slackfumasta
05-07-05, 07:54 PM
Googkle.com isnt a real page. Type it in your address bar, its just a 404 error.

Next time type it with 'www' instead of 'ww' maybe ;)

mysubaruimp
05-07-05, 07:57 PM
Next time type it with 'www' instead of 'ww' maybe ;)


Fixed :p

I did it a few times before I took the ss, just mistyped that one time. New picture up.

Slackfumasta
05-07-05, 07:59 PM
I also noticed that you took out the 'bigboobland' tab too :D

Anyway, you're right, it doesn't even appear to resolve to an IP address. However, www.googlke.com does.

mysubaruimp
05-07-05, 08:01 PM
I also noticed that you took out the 'bigboobland' tab too :D

Anyway, you're right, it doesn't even appear to resolve to an IP address. However, www.googlke.com does.

Forgot that tab was there until I took the capture, then I remembered I was done with it.

googlke does resolve, but it is just a typical spam site, nothing out of the ordinary involving the russian mob or viri.

nstabl
05-07-05, 08:16 PM
i tried messing up the corp comp im on, no luck :/ 404 not found

Kendan
05-07-05, 08:19 PM
Are you guys using a special hosts file?

Hopefully the site is down because it seemed nasty.

nstabl
05-07-05, 08:52 PM
maybe you are using a special hosts file..... a very spyware-loaded special hosts file :p i went on another computer, still nothing there... check your info ken! let us know, i wanna infest my computer with spyware and learn how to clear it up 1 by 1.. actually, anyone out there know of a site that will JACK YOU UP? PM me, thanks! im an isp technician and need examples!

Kendan
05-07-05, 08:57 PM
maybe you are using a special hosts file..... a very spyware-loaded special hosts file :p i went on another computer, still nothing there... check your info ken! let us know, i wanna infest my computer with spyware and learn how to clear it up 1 by 1.. actually, anyone out there know of a site that will JACK YOU UP? PM me, thanks! im an isp technician and need examples!

I linked the source article in my first post. I have not checked the site because I do have a very intensive Hosts file that comprises several different ones. Check out the site from the link in the first post for more sites.

RJARRRPCGP
05-07-05, 09:08 PM
Googkle.com isnt a real page. Type it in your address bar, its just a 404 error.

[whois.joker.com]
domain: googkle.com
status: lock
owner: Sergey Gridasov
email: umsoft@yahoo.com
address: Salnevostochny pr., d46, kv410
city: St.-Petersburg
state: Spb
postal-code: 193230
country: RU

That's not 404, just a general server not found error. Probably the web site was shut down.