• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Computer for College

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

funkmasta_k

Registered
This is my first time building a computer, and I've been doing alot of research for awhile now. I don't plan on buying the parts until the end of summer, so hopefully the prices will drop. Anyways, I've compiled a list of parts, it's not concrete, I just wanted some feedback on anything, like compatabiliy with memory and the motherboard. I found all these items on newegg, not necessarily purchasing them all from there. I will be using this comp for gaming mostly i.e. counterstrike. My price range is around $2000, anyone willing to help would be greatly appreciated.

1.Antec Performance I P-160WF Silver 1.2mm Anodized Aluminum ATX Mid

2.ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard

3.ATI 100-435500 Radeon X800XL 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express x16 Video Card

4.ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W Power Supply

5.AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Newcastle Integrated into Chip FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3800AWBOX

6. (2) Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA NCQ ST380017AS 80GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive

9.Rosewill RB-321 Black IDE Combo Drive

10.Rosewill RD-162 Black IDE DVD Burner

11.acer AL1715smd Silver/Black 17" 12ms LCD Monitor

12.SCYTHE ACS64U 90mm Cooling Fan

Instead of the 3800+ newcastle, get a 3700+ san diego, it has twice the cache and should oc higher then the newcastle. Do you plan to run a sli setup, if your not there is no need to get a sli board, also take a look at the DFi lanparty boards they have a lot of overclocking options. Just so you know the TR xp series seem to be the prefered hs but will also cost more then that scythe.