View Full Version : is this real!?!?!?!?!
zangler
10-06-01, 02:00 PM
a 1.8ghz MP! for $350 someone verify this...
http://www.necxdirect.com/hai/prod_page.html?key=0000163422&nonce=guest
zangler
10-06-01, 03:22 PM
does noone care about this....or is this old news?
Originally posted by zangler
a 1.8ghz MP! for $350 someone verify this...
http://www.necxdirect.com/hai/prod_page.html?key=0000163422&nonce=guest
I doubt if it's really 1.8GHz. They probably made a mistake with the new names. PR1800 is a 1.53GHz proc. The confusion is starting with these PR %#%*:mad:
Tell ME it ain't real!
http://213.219.40.69/07100101.htm
I want one!
They're confused just like a lot of people with this PR crap that AMD has come up with. I have a business account with them, so I called to inquire about this. All they can tell me is the chip carries a rating of "1800" They won't say it's actually 1.8GHz. I told them their web site says 1.8GHz, and they replied that they could not confirm that. Given 1.7GHz is the absolute best anyone can get to with standard cooling and normal voltage, it's hard to see AMD releasing a 1.8GHz chip.
This PR scheme is really pis**** me off. I'm trying to upgrade right now, and I can't figure out what is what. Some companies are using the actual MHz, while others are using the PR. I can't compare prices or figure out what they're actually selling. I think this is really going to back fire on them. It's one thing to have a high MHz chip like the P4 that doesn't perform along the same lines as previous chips - it's another matter to flat out try to convince people they're buying something that they are not. This is about as smart as Intel's cpu serial indentification turned out to be.
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.