PDA

View Full Version : Another AIM Virus?


CheezFry
06-20-05, 06:06 PM
Wasn't sure if it really is new, but I figured I'd post and warn just in case.

If someone im's you a link for:

-h-t-t-p-:-/-/-f-u-n-n-y-.-a-f-z-.-b-i-z-/-p-i-c-s-.-p-h-p-?-c-a-t-_-i-d-=-1-1-&-a-m-p-;-f-i-l-e-=-c-h-e-c-k-i-t-.-j-p-g-

DONT CLICK IT! (added in the - marks so no one clicks it on accident)

It will prompt you to download a file called "checkit.exe" (Firefox/IE), "checkit.jpg" (IE), or just dl itself (IE).

If you click it and it runs, you will be infected and start sending the link to people on your buddylist.

If you are infected, please sign off of AIM until you are able to remove it. If you still need to use AIM, you can download an alternative AIM client, such as gaim:

http://gaim.sourceforge.net/

CheezFry
06-20-05, 06:29 PM
Anyone else seeing this? Or are all of my friends retards? :bang head

Smokeys
06-20-05, 07:11 PM
Should stop spreading as the domain doesn't resolve anymore.

khiloa
06-20-05, 07:18 PM
Anyone else seeing this?Nope, I haven't seen it. Like Smokeys said it doesn't seem like it will continue spreading.

Rockafella134
06-20-05, 10:58 PM
So its only for AIM? I use GAIM anyways but I will tell other people. :D

shellshock
06-21-05, 12:27 PM
Back a few weeks ago someone kept sending me a link, and after the link it would ask if this is you.

but we got it resolved, and I havnet seen it since