• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Water Cooling: Start Here

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ls7corvete

BEFORE YOU POST YOU MUST READ THESE:
Forum Guidelines
Sticky info
How to post a WCing Q

Ok, the stickys have simple gotten out of control, I am going to try to bring it together a bit.

Here is the deal:

-Links to current stickys will be in blue.
-Links to informative threads will be in green.
-I will pick quotes from selected topics that I will update occasionally to make browsing quicker.

For now, the top 10(up to 12 now :cool: ):

1. I'm a newbie, pls help.

Ok start with these no exceptions, IDC what you are trying to build.
How Water Cooling Works:
Basically, you have a water block on the CPU that absorbs heat, and passes it onto the water. Most water blocks are designed in such a way that a lot of heat is transferred to the water, with the use of mazes, that channel the water around, fins to increase turbulence and surface area, or, more recently, jet impingement. To move water through this water block we use a pump. A pump uses an electric motor to spin an impeller that forces the water through the tubing, and into the water block. To remove the heat from the water, we make use of a radiator. With a radiator, however, the natural convection of the heat isn’t enough for most users, so we connect a fan. 120 mm fans can be used, and these cut down on noise, while boosting airflow as compared to smaller fans. Because a fan has a dead spot in the centre and does not cover the whole of most radiators, a shroud should be used. After the radiator, the water gets pumped back through the CPU waterblock and the cycle repeats.
Water Cooling : The Basics : Silmatharien goes over the basics behind water cooling.