• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OCZ or PQI for me??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ShauNotDeaD

Registered
I know OCZ is supposed to be great stuff but I've never built a computer so I have no bias. Can someone tell me which of these is my best bet? Please don't tell me that OCZ is always the best :bang head ; gimme some facts or some problems that others have had or something. Basically, I'm looking at what seems to be some decent PQI RAM and some budget OCZ RAM. Am I wrong? I'm basically looking to do a little OCing cause it's my first time, but not push it so hard it's unstable or anything. So I'm currently leaning toward the PQI since it has slightly better timings. What do you think?

:shrug:

My setup:
http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion...Y&ID=1605268&WishListTitle=ShauN's+Gamer+v1.2
Basically, Antec SONATA II, ASUS A8V-E Deluxe (S939), PNY GeForce 6600GT (128MB) PCIe, Athlon 64 3200+ Venice.

OCZ Value Series:
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16820227213

PQI Turbo:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16820141154

Thanks guys,
ShauN

P.S. This is my second post, woohooo, I love these forums.

normally i would advise to be wary of value ram, but that OCZ looks like good stuff. The listed timings are slightly better for the pqi, but take a look at the reviews for the OCZ. 2-2-2-6 on value ram?? Definitely worth a shot.