• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cleaning up a neighbor's PC-What to bring?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jack222

So, this is my first time fixing someone else's pc. They just want me to make it "faster". Should i burn the programs like Spybot and stuff to a cd? Any tools? I am used to just grabbing stuff from around the house.

Thanks.

Spybot, SpywareBlaster, HijackThis!, a reg cleaner, AVG antivirus...that should get a lot of it.

1. Most of the junk is going to be internet junk. I'd scan with AVG even if they have something like Norton installed...the last computer I checked had 4 trojans that Norton was oblivious to. Clean out Internet cache/history, kill everything with Spybot, immunize with Spybot and Spywareblaster (booting into safe mode after installing updates is good) and clean up with HijackThis.

2. I'd also turn off the majority of the Windows display enhancements...get rid of menus that fade out and such. I pretty much turn off everything but the last four in that list. Decreasing menushowdelay in the registry to about 150 also makes the PC "feel" faster.

3. After all that, run the Windows Disk Cleanup thing, maybe manually delete some temp files, and defrag it. If it's a single user, disable the Terminal Services service...that gets rid of a lot of pointless (for a single user) services. I usually defrag last and ask them to just let it finish defragging because it takes a while.

4. Collect money. $50 is nice, I charged $60 when I found 32 virii.

You know, i have NEVER used Hijackthis. A)Becuase i never needed to. B)I heard it is complicated with the logs. Is there anywhere i can figure out how to use it? Or wiill i be able to interpete the log?

jack222 said: